When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

If this doesn’t make you cry, you probably suck

2 Votes

Last book I actually physically read ... super sad. Was bawling but very good. Teaches you about life. Story of an amazing doctor and his life and gets cancer and how he deals with it.

1 Vote

Read (okay, sobbed) through this one in a two hour flight. Amazing memoir to remind you of the brutiful bits of life.

0 Votes

Such an amazing book

0 Votes

Quite possibly the best book I've read in more than a decade. Paul is an incredible story teller with an unbelievable eloquence. As a writer, I found myself re-reading passages and even underlying the most beautifully constructed sentences. Its a heavy topic (read: you will cry) but its not a sad book. This one will stick with you for a long time.

0 Votes

This should be required reading for absolutely everyone. It will fill your heart and break your heart, and leave you feeling like you want to live every moment to its fullest. This is a book of true humanity and beauty.

0 Votes